State tobacco-related legislative bills that have been acted on by a state legislative committee or state legislature are listed below alphabetically by state:
Massachusetts: Senate Bill 1809, which increases the cigarette tax to $4.01 per 20 pack (with floor tax) and increases the tax on cigars and smoking tobacco to 80% of the wholesale price, reported from the Joint Committee on Revenue accompanied by Study Order 5247 on September 26, 2022.
Michigan: The following carryover bills from the 2021 session were considered in the Senate Regulatory Reform Committee on September 20, 2022:
Senate Bill 572: Taxes consumable materials used in electronic smoking devices at the following rates: 18% of the wholesale price if the consumable materials are part of an open vapor system; $0.60 per milliliter if the consumable materials are contained in a closed system cartridge. SB572 also taxes alternative nicotine products at 50 cents per ounce based on the net weight of the alternative nicotine product as listed by the manufacturer. Finally, the bill places an excise tax cap on cigars at 65 cents per individual cigar beginning November 1, 2021 through October 31, 2022; and 75 cents per individual cigar beginning November 1, 2022.
Senate Bill 573: Prohibits any person who sells vapor products at retail from advertising a vapor product to a minor, sell or distribute a vapor product that does not contain a health warning on the package, give away free samples, or display an advertisement that is not accompanied with a health warning statement.
Senate Bill 574: Provides compliance checks for the sale of tobacco products, vapor products, or alternative nicotine products to minors and prescribes penalties.
Senate Bill 575: Requires that beginning January 1, 2022, any person selling tobacco products, vapor products, or alternative nicotine products at retail to be licensed; requires that beginning January 1, 2022, a person that manufacturers vapor products to be sold in the state must register those vapor products; and provides that beginning January 1, 2022, a person who sell tobacco products, vapor products, or alternative nicotine products at retail shall not sell a vapor product in this state unless the vapor product is registered with the state.
No vote was taken, and all four bills remain in committee. However, the Chair noted that all four bills will most likely be brought back for further consideration later in the year.