State tobacco-related legislative bills that have been acted on by a state legislative committee or state legislature are listed below alphabetically by state:
California: Senate Bill 793, which prohibits the sale of all flavored tobacco products and flavored tobacco product enhancers, excepting shisha sales in hookah tobacco retailers, passed the Senate on June 25, 2020.
Georgia: Senate Bill 375, which was amended on June 24, 2020, and now imposes a tax on vapor products at $.05 per fluid milliliter in closed systems, and taxes consumable vapor products in open systems at the rate of 7% of the wholesale cost, moved to the Governor on June 29, 2020. SB375 also requires a license to manufacture, ship, import, purchase, receive, sell or distribute alternative nicotine products and vapor products, and increases the legal age to purchase and possess tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, and vapor products from 18 to 21 years of age. The following bills failed due to the adjournment of the legislature on June 26, 2020: House Bill 882, which was recently amended in the Senate Finance Committee, and increases the tax on cigarettes by $.98 per pack, imposes a tax on liquid nicotine at the rate of $1.25 per milliliter, and reduces the tax on cigars from 23% to 12% of the wholesale cost price, and establishes a requirement for a vapor license, passed the Senate Finance Committee on June 19, 2020 and is awaiting consideration by the full Senate; and House Bill 1229, which increases the tax on cigarettes by $1.50 per pack, increases the OTP tax from 23% to 39% of the wholesale cost price, and imposes a tax on vapor products at the OTP tax rate of 39% of the wholesale cost price.
Iowa: Senate Bill 2268, which increases the minimum sales age for tobacco and vapor products to 21, was signed by the Governor on June 29, 2020. It is immediately effective upon enactment.
Mississippi: Senate Bill B2596, which, as amended, raises the minimum legal sales age to 21 and provides for more stringent penalties for sales to underage persons of alternative nicotine products, including e-cigarettes and other non-traditional nicotine products, within 1,500 feet of a school or 1000 feet of a church, playground or other specified public areas, and for sales of alternative nicotine products that contain prohibited controlled substances or other substances causing the purchaser to receive medical care, was amended in conference committee and the conference report was adopted by the House on June 28, 2020 and by the Senate on June 29, 2020.
New Hampshire: Before adjourning the 2020 regular session on June 30, Senate Bill 248, which increases the age for sales and possession of tobacco products, was “laid on table” in the Senate. House Bill 1245, the omnibus bill which concerned state agencies and included language to increase the age for sales and possession of tobacco products and e-cigarettes to age 21, received concurrence in the House.
North Carolina: House Bill 1080, which reduces the excise tax on tobacco products if those products are approved for modified-risk status by the Food and Drug Administration, was signed by the Governor on June 30, 2020.