State tobacco-related legislative bills that have been acted on by a state legislative committee or state legislature are listed below alphabetically by state:
Colorado: House Bill 1001, which increases the minimum sales age for tobacco products and vapor products from 18 to 21; requires all vapor and tobacco product retailers to obtain a license; and prohibits new tobacco product or vapor product retailers from being located within 500 feet of a school, passed the Senate and moved to the House for concurrence on June 5, 2020.
Mississippi: House Bill 1407, which would have taxed alternative nicotine products and e-products at the same rate as other products (15% of sales price), died in committee on June 9, 2020. Senate Bill 2799, which would have taxed alternative nicotine products at $0.05 per milliliter, died on the Senate calendar on June 4, 2020.
Tennessee: Senate Bill 2202 (same as House Bill 2269), which prohibits the sale of tobacco products, vaping products or smoking paraphernalia to persons under age twenty-one, was substituted for HB2269 on June 2, 2020. The bill passed the House on June 8th; and the Senate concurred on June 10th.