State tobacco-related legislative bills that have been acted on by a state legislative committee or state legislature are listed below alphabetically by state:
California: Assembly Bill 1639, a carryover bill from 2019, was amended on June 17, 2020 and now bans the sale of non-tobacco-flavored vapor products except those that have been approved through the FDA’s Pre-Market Tobacco Authorization process, taxes electronic cigarettes at a rate of $2.40 for every unit of 40 milligrams in the electronic cigarette (rounded up for each 40 milligram unit or portion of a unit) to fund certain health programs, requires retailers to check the identification of any tobacco purchaser using age verification software or an age verification device, increases penalties for sales to underage persons, allows retailers to offer money in lieu of a suspension for sale to an underage person, prohibits a person under the age of 21 from entering a tobacco store unless accompanied by a parent or guardian, requires the Department of Public Health to conduct random compliance checks on 20% of retailers annually, and becomes effective immediately upon enactment, except the tax which is effective on January 1, 2021.
Colorado: House Bill 1427, which places a question on the November, 2020 general election ballot for voters to vote on that would increase the tax on cigarettes to $1.94 per pack in 2021, to $2.24 per pack in 2024, and to $2.64 per pack in 2027; establish a minimum retail price for a pack of cigarettes at $7.00 per pack (increases to $7.50 on July 1, 2024); and increase the tax on other tobacco products and nicotine products (including vapor products) to 50% of the manufacturer’s list price in 2021, 56% in 2024, and 62% in 2027, is eligible for the Governor after the House concurred with Senate amendments on June 15, 2020. House Bill 1001, which increases the minimum sales age for tobacco products and vapor products from 18 to 21; requires all vapor and tobacco product retailers to obtain a license; and prohibits new tobacco product or vapor product retailers from being located within 500 feet of a school, is eligible for the Governor after the House concurred with Senate amendments on June 12, 2020.
Iowa: Senate Bill 2268, which increases the minimum sales age for tobacco and vapor products to 21, passed the House on June 11th and sent to the Governor for signature on June 16, 2020.
Michigan: The following bills passed the Senate and moved to the House Regulatory Reform Committee on June 17, 2018: Senate Bill 781, which as amended, imposes a new tax on vapor products at the rate of 18% of the wholesale price. The previous version of SB781 imposed a new tax on vapor products at the rate of 24% of the wholesale price; Senate Bill 782, which requires a license to sell alternative nicotine products, and vapor products; Senate Bill 783, which prohibits the advertising of vapor products in a manner that causes a minor to believe that health benefits may be derived from the use of vapor products. SB783 also allows the sale of flavored vapor products; Senate Bill 784, which increases the legal age to purchase tobacco products, alternative nicotine products, and vapor products from 18 to 21 years of age; and Senate Bill 785, which modifies the age requirement provisions in the penal code relating to the sale or distribution of tobacco products by mail or vending machines.
New Hampshire: House Bill 1410, which prohibits flavors other than menthol and tobacco for cartridges used in e-cigarettes and other vaping devices (exempts refillable tanks), was “laid on the table” in the Senate on June 16, 2020. House Bill 1245, which was amended in the Senate to include language to increase the age to 21 for sales and possession of tobacco products, reported from the Senate Executive Departments and Administration Committee as “ought to pass as amended” on June 10th and passed the Senate on June 17, 2020.
North Carolina: House Bill 1080, which reduces the excise tax on tobacco products if those products are approved for modified-risk status by the Food and Drug Administration, passed the Rules, Calendar, and Operations of the House Committee on June 17, 2020.