State tobacco-related legislative bills that have been acted on by a state legislative committee or state legislature are listed below alphabetically by state:
California: Senate Bill 193, which criminalizes the sale of nitrous oxide by retailers who primarily sell tobacco, passed Assembly Committee on Public Safety on June 25, 2019.
Connecticut: House Bill 7424, the state budget bill which includes a tax on electronic cigarette products ($.40 per milliliter for pre-filled and 10% of wholesale for all others), was signed by the Governor on June 26, 2019.
Hawaii: Senate Bill 1405, which increases penalties on persons under 21 for use of electronic tobacco products and requires public school teachers to confiscate electronic tobacco products possessed by persons under 21, was listed on June 24, 2019 as a bill the Governor intends to veto.
Maine: LD1028 / HP758, which was amended to remove the cigarette tax increase, change the OTP (including electronic cigarettes) tax to 43% of wholesale and tie the OTP tax rate to future cigarette tax increases, passed the House and Senate on June 20, 2019. The legislature adjourned sine die on June 20, 2019. Pending bills will carry-over to the 2020 session.
Ohio: House Bill 166 raises the purchase age for tobacco and vapor products to 21, adds a $.10 per milliliter tax to all vapor products, and creates a new license for vapor stores at $1,000 annually, passed Senate on June 24, 2019.
Oregon: An amended version of House Bill 2270, which increases the tax on cigarettes by $2.00 per pack, includes inhalant delivery devices on the definition of tobacco products, thus imposing the OTP tax rate of 65% of the wholesale price on vapor products, and increases the per cigar limitation on the state cigar tax from 50 cents to $1.00 per cigar, passed the Senate by a vote of 18-8 on June 30, 2019. The tax increases will now move to the ballot in the next general election (November 2020). If approved by the voters, the tax increases will go into effect January 1, 2021.
Pennsylvania: Senate Bill 473, which raises the legal sales age for tobacco products and electronic cigarettes (and other electronic products) from 18 to 21, reported from the Senate Judiciary Committee on June 24, 2019.
Rhode Island: House Bill 5151 (Governor’s Budget Bill), which included an increase in the cigarette tax of $.25 per pack, a new tax of 40% of wholesale on electronic nicotine delivery systems and an increase in the tax cap on large cigars to $.80 per cigar, was amended to remove the tax increases and passed the House on June 22, 2019.