State tobacco-related legislative bills that have been acted on by a state legislative committee or state legislature are listed below alphabetically by state:
Connecticut: House Bill 7200, which prohibits the sale of cigarettes, tobacco products, electronic nicotine delivery systems and vapor products to persons under age twenty-one and increases various associated fines and penalties, passed the Senate on May 31, was enacted on June 5 and sent to the Governor on June 6, 2019.
Illinois: During the last 24 hours of the 2019 Spring Session, the Illinois General Assembly amended and passed Senate Bill 690, which now includes a tax increase of $1.00 per pack on cigarettes and also imposes a tax on electronic cigarettes at the rate of 15% of the wholesale price. The previous version of the bill contained no tobacco provisions. The tax increases go into effect July 1, 2019.
Louisiana: House Bill 38 increases the purchase age for tobacco and vapor products from 18 to 21 years of age, died in the House on May 23, 2019.
Maine: LD1190 / SP364, which prohibits the sale of flavored tobacco products, reported from the Joint Committee on Health and Human Service with a divided report on June 7, 2019.
Michigan: The following bills were signed by the Governor on June 4, 2019 and will go into effect September 2, 2019: Senate Bill 106, which prohibits the purchase of vapor products by minor and Senate Bill 155, which prohibits the sale of e-liquid unless in a child-resistant container and also prohibits self-service displays of vapor products.
Nebraska: An amended version of Legislative Bill 149, which now increases the legal age to purchase tobacco products and vapor products from 18 to 19 years of age, was signed by the Governor on May 30, 2019. Effective January 1, 2020.
Nevada: Senate Bill 263, which regulates and imposes a 30% of wholesale price tax on vapor products, passed the Senate on May 30, 2019, passed Assembly on May 31, 2019 and was transmitted to the Governor on June 2, 2019. Assembly Bill 535, which creates a new annual fee on tobacco retailers of $50, passed Senate Committee on Revenue and Economic Development on June 1, 2019, passed Senate on June 2, 2019 and is ready for the Governor.
New Jersey: Assembly Bill 3181, which prohibits the use of coupons, price rebates and price reduction promotions in sales of tobacco and vapor products, passed the Assembly Health and Senior Services Committee and was referred to the Assembly Appropriations Committee on June 6, 2019.
New York: Senate Bill 4249 (same as A6842), which prohibits new locations of retail electronic cigarette stores and tobacco businesses on the same street within 200 feet of buildings exclusively used for schools and places of worship, in a city within 500 feet of three or more existing stores and within a town or village within a two-square mile area of three or more existing stores, was amended and recommitted to the Senate Health Committee on May 31, 2019. Assembly Bill 6369, which authorizes a city of 1 million or more population to impose a tax on OTP at 10% of the purchase price, reported from the Assembly Ways and Means Committee on June 11, 2019.
Oregon: House Bill 2270, which increases the tax on cigarettes by $2.00 per pack, includes inhalant delivery devices on the definition of tobacco products, thus imposing the OTP tax rate of 65% of the wholesale price on vapor products, and removes the per cigar limitation (50 cents) on the state cigar tax, was considered in a work session in the House Revenue Committee on June 13, 2019. House Bill 3436, which requires that prior to selling a cigar or vapor product in a delivery sale the seller must authorize the consumer is 21 years old through an independent age verification service, passed the House Revenue Committee on June 11, 2019.
Texas: Senate Bill 21, which increases the legal age to purchase, possess, and consume tobacco products and vapor products from 18 to 21 years of age, was signed by the Governor on June 7, 2019. SB21 contains an exemption for all military members over the age of 18 with a valid military ID. Effective September 1, 2019.