State tobacco-related legislative bills that have been acted on by a state legislative committee or state legislature are listed below alphabetically by state:
Connecticut: House Bill 7200, which prohibits the sale of cigarettes, tobacco products, electronic nicotine delivery systems and vapor products to persons under age twenty-one and increases various associated fines and penalties, was signed by the Governor on June 18, 2019.
Maine: LD1190/SP364, which would have prohibited the sale of flavored tobacco products, was amended to remove the flavor ban language and passed by the House and Senate on June 19, 2019. LD1028/HP758 was amended to remove the $1.50 cigarette tax increase and lower the OTP tax increase (to 43% of wholesale); the bill passed the House and Senate on June 20, 2019.
Nevada: Two bills were signed by the Governor on June 12: Senate Bill 263 regulates and imposes a 30% of wholesale price tax on vapor products effective January 1, 2020; and Assembly Bill 535 creates a new annual fee on tobacco retailers of $50 effective October 1, 2019.
New Jersey: Assembly Bill 5385 and Senate Bill 3877, which impose a licensing requirement on vapor businesses, limits the sale of “container e-liquid” to vapor businesses and imposes a retail tax of 10% on “container e-liquid” (the definition of which excludes a pre-filled cartridge), reported favorably from the Senate Budget and Appropriations Committee on June 17, 2019.
Oregon: An amended version of House Bill 2270, which increases the tax on cigarettes by $2.00 per pack, includes inhalant delivery devices on the definition of tobacco products, thus imposing the OTP tax rate of 65% of the wholesale price on vapor products, and increases the per cigar tax limitation on the state cigar tax from 50 cents to $1.00 per cigar, passed the House and moved to the Senate on June 20, 2019. If approved by the legislature, the tax increases will move to the ballot in the next general election (November 2020). If approved by the voters, the tax increases would go into effect January 1, 2021.
Texas: Senate Bill 21, which increases the legal age to purchase, possess, and consume tobacco products and vapor products from 18 to 21 years of age, was enacted on June 7, 2019. SB21 does not apply to anyone born on or before August 31, 2001. The law contains an exemption for all military members over the age of 18 with a valid military ID. Effective September 1, 2019.