State tobacco-related legislative bills that have been introduced in the past week are listed below alphabetically by state:
California: Assembly Bill 422, which authorizes local jurisdictions to adopt ordinances prohibiting persons under 21 from possessing tobacco products, was introduced on February 4, 2021.
Florida: Senate Bill 1080 (Pre-filed) increases the legal age to purchase and possess tobacco products and vapor products to 21 years of age.
Idaho: Senate Bill 1087 amends existing law to raise the legal age to possess and use tobacco products and electronic smoking devices to 21 years of age.
Illinois: House Bill 778 prohibits the possession of tobacco products and vapor products by a person under the age of 21.
Iowa: Senate File 280 would eliminate the exemption of gaming floors from the prohibitions of the Smokefree Air Act.
Kansas: House Bill 2340 increases the minimum age to purchase and possess cigarettes, electronic cigarettes, and tobacco products to 21 years of age.
Massachusetts: Senate Docket 1007 increases the cigarette tax to $4.01 per pack (with floor tax) and increases the tax on cigars and smoking tobacco to 80% of the wholesale price.
Maryland: House Bill 1011 (cross-filed with Senate Bill 410) authorizes a county or municipality to enact and enforce local laws to regulate the sale and distribution of cigarettes, other tobacco products and electronic smoking devices. House Bill 1324 (cross-filed with SB883) requires a person located outside the state to have a remote tobacco seller license in order to sell premium cigars or pipe tobacco to consumers in the state.
Minnesota: House File 904 would prohibit the sale of all flavored tobacco and vape products (includes menthol, mint and wintergreen); a hearing on House File 904 is scheduled for February 17, 2021. Senate File 961 and House File 991 reflect the Governor’s budget proposal which includes a $1.00/pack cigarette tax increase (includes a floor stocks tax), a corresponding increase in the tax on moist snuff, a 35% gross receipts tax on the retail sales price of nicotine solutions and electronic nicotine devices, and the application of the 95% OTP tax on electronic nicotine devices, not just taxing nicotine liquids at the 95% OTP tax rate.
New York: Assembly Bill 4374 prohibits the sale of flavored tobacco products (excludes menthol, mint and wintergreen). Assembly Bill 4544 restricts the public display of tobacco products and electronic cigarette advertisements and smoking paraphernalia near public libraries.
Tennessee: House Bill 515 (same as SB143) exempts smokeless nicotine products from the tax on tobacco products and cigarettes. House Bill 1014 (same as SB985) amends current code to make it a violation for a retailer, tobacco distributor or other person to advertise, offer to sell or sell cigarettes for less than an amount set by the Department of Revenue.
Vermont: Senate Bill 24, which prohibits the sale of flavored cigarettes, e-cigarettes and e-liquids (including menthol) will be “walked through” in the Senate Health and Welfare Committee on February 11, 2021.
West Virginia: Senate Bill 68 increases the cigarette tax to $2.00 per pack (currently $1.20) and the e-cigarette liquid tax to $1.00 per milliliter (currently $0.075). House Bill 2254 establishes different (lower) tobacco tax rates for certain border counties.