State tobacco-related legislative bills that have been acted on by a state legislative committee or state legislature in the past week are listed below alphabetically by state:
Connecticut: Senate Bill 164, which raises the legal age to 21 to purchase tobacco products (exempts any person age 18 years or older prior to October 1, 2018), reported favorably from the Joint Committee on Public Health on March 26, 2018.
Hawaii: Senate Bill 2843, which, as amended in its entirety, effective July 1, 3000, increases the tax on cigarettes and little cigars from $3.20 to $4.50 per pack, the excise tax on OTP other than large cigars from 70% to 80% of the wholesale price, and the retailer license fee from $2.50 to $500.00, passed House Committee on Consumer Protection and Commerce with an amendment on March 20.
Kentucky: House Bill 366, which had included a $.50 per pack cigarette tax increase, was referred to a conference committee on March 22, 2018.
Maryland: House Bill 47, which amends existing law to remove the prohibition on electronic nicotine delivery systems retailers of selling to consumers through the mail, by telephone or electronic network, passed the Senate on March 28, 2018.
Oklahoma: House Bill 1010 was amended in the House on March 26, 2018 and now increases the tax on cigarettes by $1.00 per pack, taxes little cigars at the same rate as cigarettes, and increases the tax on chewing tobacco by 10% of the factory list price (from 60% to 70% of the factory list price). HB1010 passed the House by a vote of 79-19 and moved to the Senate on March 26, 2018. The Senate then passed HB1010 on March 28, 2018 by a vote of 36-10. The bill was signed by the Governor on March 29, 2018.
Vermont: House Bill 922, which imposes a new tax of 46% of wholesale on e-cigarettes and vapor products, was referred to the Senate Finance Committee on March 27, 2018.