State tobacco-related legislative bills that have been acted on by a state legislative committee or state legislature are listed below alphabetically by state:
Alaska: Senate Bill 15, which prohibits minors from purchasing or possessing electronic smoking products, and requires any person who sells electronic smoking products to be obtain a business license, passed the Senate Finance Committee and was referred to the Senate Rules Committee on February 28, 2018.
Connecticut: House Bill 5095, which increases the cigarette tax by $1.00 per pack, was heard in the Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee on March 2, 2018. Senate Bill 10, which increases the cigarette tax by $.25 per pack (to $4.60); raises the tax cap on a cigar to $1.50 (currently $.50), imposes a floor tax on cigarettes, and taxes e-cigarettes at 75% of wholesale, was heard in the Finance, Revenue and Bonding Committee on March 2, 2018.
Hawaii: Senate Bill 2304, effective July 1, 2050, prohibits the sale of tobacco products, including e-cigarettes, within 500 feet of public or private schools, public parks and playgrounds, and grandfathers in licensees, passed the Senate on March 6, 2018. Senate Bill 2654, effective July 1, 2050, prohibits shipments of tobacco products to anyone other than a licensee and applies the tobacco products tax to e-liquids, passed Senate on March 6, 2018. Senate Bill 2843, effective July 1, 2050, increases the tax on large cigars from $0.50 to the lesser of $1.00 each or 50% of the wholesale price plus $0.50 each, passed the Senate on March 6, 2018.
Kentucky: House Bill 366, which was amended in committee to increase the cigarette tax by $.50 per pack (with a floor tax), passed the House, was sent to the Senate on March 1, 2018 and referred to the Senate Appropriations & Revenue Committee on March 6, 2018.
Massachusetts: House Bill 3314, which increases the cigarette tax by $1.00 per pack, the smokeless tax to 264% and the tax on cigars and smoking tobacco to 80%--includes a floor tax on cigarettes, was ordered to be studied. House Bill 3524, which requires cigar retailers to obtain a "retail tobacconist" license, requires retail tobacconist shops to have at least 80% of the total combined quarterly revenue be generated by the sale of tobacco and tobacco related products, requires retail tobacconists to operate an on-site humidor and not permit persons under the age of 21 inside the premises, and redefines "retail tobacco store,” was ordered to be studied.
Minnesota: House Bill 2790, which increases the cigarette tax by $.14/pack, reinstates an automatic CPI increase in the state cigarette tax, and raises the premium cigar tax cap from $.50 per cigar to $3.50 per cigar, was heard in the House Tax Committee on March 13, 2018.
Mississippi: The following bills died in committee on February 21st: House Bill 906, which increases the tobacco equity tax on non-participating manufacturers from $0.27 per pack to $0.68 per pack; House Bill 1478, which increases the tax on cigarettes from $0.68 to $1.68 per pack; Senate Bill 2230, which increases the tax on cigarettes from $0.68 to $2.18 per pack; Senate Bill 2445, which increases the tax on cigarettes from $0.68 to $0.98 per pack; and Senate Bill 2701, which increases the tax on cigarettes from $0.68 to $2.18 per pack.
New Hampshire: Senate Bill 409, which changes the tax on moist snuff from 65.03% of wholesale to $1.68 per ounce, was referred to an interim study by the Senate on February 22, 2018. House Bill 1812, which regulates e-liquids by requiring labeling on products and by prohibiting the use of certain ingredients, failed to pass the House on March 6, 2018.
Utah: House Bill 88, which, as amended, treats “alternative nicotine products” and “non-therapeutic nicotine devices” (nicotine inhalers or sprays) as electronic cigarettes for licensing purposes and imposes a tax of 86% of the manufacturer’s sale price for prefilled electronic cigarettes and devices effective July 1, 2018 and 29% of the manufacturer’s sales price on refill liquids and alternative products effective July 1, 2018, was amended on the House floor on March 5, 2018. House Bill 324, which, as amended, requires tobacco retailers to obtain a city or county permit and changes the definition of those businesses considered retail tobacco specialty stores (and therefore prohibited from being located in certain areas) to include any business that obtains more than 35% of its revenue from tobacco sales, devotes 20% or more of its display or shelf space to tobacco products, or has a self-service display for tobacco products, but grandfathers in such retailers lawfully in business on December 31, 2015, was amended on the Senate floor and passed Senate on March 7, 2018, was concurred in by the House and sent to the Governor on March 7, 2018.
Washington: House Bill 1054, which increases the legal age to purchase tobacco products and vapor products, passed the House by a vote of 63-35 and moved to the Senate on March 7, 2018. HB1054 was then referred to the Senate Ways and Means Committee on March 8, 2018.