State tobacco-related legislative bills that have been acted on by a state legislative committee or state legislature are listed below alphabetically by state:
Alaska: Senate Bill 15, which prohibits minors from purchasing or possessing electronic smoking products and requires any person who sells electronic smoking products to obtain a business license, passed the House Finance Committee and was referred to the House Rules Committee on April 17, 2018.
Connecticut: Senate Bill 164, which raises the legal age to purchase tobacco to 21—exempts any person who is 18 or older prior to October 1, 2018, was referred to the Joint Committee on Finance, Revenue and Bonding on April 18, 2018.
Hawaii: Senate Bill 2654, which, effective July 1, 3000, prohibits shipments of tobacco products to anyone other than a licensee, applies the tobacco products tax to e-liquids, creates an electronic cigarette registration unit, increases the tax on all tobacco products by an unspecified amount, provides a defense to retailers who obtain identification that reasonably appears to indicate a purchaser is at least 21, requires tobacco products to be behind the sales counter, in an area inaccessible by the public or in a locked container, and pre-empts local retail tobacco ordinances, was referred to a House-Senate conference committee to be held on April 19.
Illinois: The following bills died on April 13, 2018 by missing a procedural deadline: House Bill 3208, which raises the minimum legal sales age and the age to purchase use or possess tobacco products from 18 to 21; House Bill 4555, which prohibits self-service display of tobacco products and prohibits candy displays within 5 feet of a counter that has behind it any tobacco products; and Senate Bill 3400, which, for calendar years 2019 through 2021, caps the tax on cigars at $0.50 each, and levies an additional tax of $0.25 per cigar.
Kentucky: House Bill 366, with the $.50 cigarette tax increase and floor tax, was adopted by the Senate and the House on April 2, 2018. The bill was vetoed by the Governor on April 9, 2018. The legislature successfully voted to override the Governor’s veto on April 13, 2018. The tax increase becomes effective on July 1, 2018.
Maine: House Bill 1344, which reduces the legal age to purchase and possess tobacco products to 18 years of age, was postponed by the House indefinitely on April 18, 2018.
Minnesota: House Bill 4385 and companion Senate Bill 3982 would (1) require that a new tax stamp be placed on each package of moist snuff, (2) repeal the removal of the excise cigarette tax inflator, (3) repeal the $.50 cigar tax cap for premium cigars and increase the rate to $3.50 per premium cigar, and (4) clarify a tax on vapor products at 95% of the sales price paid by distributors. These bills were heard in the Taxes Committee in each legislative body this week. These bills are the “Governor’s Tax Bill” and are being carried as courtesy to the Governor. They were laid over at the conclusion of the hearings with no action taken.