Connecticut: Senate Bill 1502, the state budget bill that includes a cigarette tax increase of $.45 per pack and a snuff tobacco products tax increase of $2.00 per ounce, passed the Senate and House on October 26, 2017. The bill includes a floor tax; the effective date would be December 1, 2017.
New York: Senate Bill 2543A, which make the restrictions on smoking in public places applicable to electronic cigarettes (exempts retail tobacco businesses and retail electronic cigarette stores), was signed by the Governor on October 23, 2017.
Oklahoma: House Bill 1035a, which would have increased the tax on cigarettes by $1.50 per pack, tax little cigars at the same rate as cigarettes, and raise the tax on chewing tobacco from 60% to 70% of the factory list price, was defeated in the Oklahoma House. The lawmakers will now return to negotiate a measure to address the state’s budget deficit.
New Jersey: Today, a New Jersey law went into effect making it illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to purchase tobacco products, e-cigarettes, or vapor products. Also, licensed retailers must post a legible sign at least 6 inches by 3 inches in size with bold letters at least one-quarter inch high, stating the following:
A PERSON WHO SELLS OR OFFERS A TOBACCO PRODUCT TO A PERSON UNDER 21 YEARS OF AGE SHALL PAY A PENALTY OF UP TO $1,000 AND MAY BE SUBJECT TO A LICENSE SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION. PROOF OF AGE MAY BE REQUIRED FOR PURCHASE. -N.J. Stat. 54:40A-4.1
These signs must be clearly visible where tobacco products are displayed and at each cash register. Accompanying this bulletin is an approved sign issued by the New Jersey Department of Health that can be printed down and displayed.