State tobacco-related legislative bills that have been acted on by a state legislative committee or state legislature are listed below alphabetically by state:
California: Senate Bill 395, which creates a new tax on purchasers of electronic cigarettes and e-liquids of 12.5% of the gross receipts from the sale of the products, to be collected and remitted by the retailer, passed the Assembly Committee on Revenue and Taxation on June 21, 2021. Senate Bill 491, which adds violations of restrictions on nitrous oxide to the list of reasons to deny, revoke, or suspend a tobacco retailer license, passed the Assembly Committee on Revenue and Taxation on June 21, 2021.
Connecticut: The 2021 special legislative session adjourned sine die on June 17, 2021.
Delaware: Senate Bill 131, which reduces the tax rate on premium cigars from 30% to 15% of the wholesale price, was referred to the House Revenue and Finance Committee on June 16, 2021.
Louisiana: House Bill 473, which raises the minimum age for the prohibition of the distribution or sale of tobacco, alternative nicotine products, or vapor products from persons under the age of 18 to those under the age of 21, was signed by the Governor on June 16, 2021. The effective date is August 1, 2021.
Maine: LD1423 / H.P. 1039, which increases the cigarette tax from $2.00 per pack to $4.00 per pack and by law, increases the tax on other tobacco products by the same percentage change as the increase in the tax on cigarettes, was approved for carry over in the Joint Committee on Taxation on June 17, 2021.
Oregon: Senate Bill 587, which requires tobacco and vapor retailers to obtain a license from the Department of Revenue and prohibits local authorities from enacting licensing requirements, but grandfathers local licensing requirements in effect on January 1, 2021, passed the Senate on June 21, 2021, and passed House Ways and Means Committee on June 22, 2021.
Texas: Senate Bill 248, which requires anyone selling electronic cigarettes to consumer to obtain a license from the Comptroller, became law without the Governor’s signature on June 18, 2021. The effective date is September 1, 2021. A provision imposing a tax on alternative nicotine products at the rate of $1.22 per ounce and a proportionate rate on all fractional parts of an ounce was removed from the final version of the bill.
Virginia: Governor Northam announced a special session of the General Assembly will convene August 2, 2021.