State tobacco-related legislative bills that have been introduced in the past week are listed below alphabetically by state:
Connecticut: House Bill 5522 requires age verification for any electronic nicotine delivery system or vapor product purchased over the Internet. House Bill 5750 prohibits the advertising and marketing of flavored vapor products to minors. House Bill 5800 imposes a tax on vapor products at the same rate as cigarettes. House Bill 5807 imposes a tax on liquid vaping products at the same percentage rate as other tobacco products. House Bill 5914 increases the minimum age to purchase tobacco products, electronic nicotine delivery systems and vapor products. House Bill 6028 increases the minimum mark-up percentage for a cigarette dealer from eight per cent to eighteen per cent. House Bill 6129 requires tobacco product purchases to be made by those twenty-one years of age or older. Senate Bill 354 restricts the use of electronic nicotine delivery systems and vapor products, for persons under the age of twenty-one. Senate Bill 397 prohibits the sale of flavored vapor products.
Hawaii: House Bills 177, 195, 1019 and Senate Bills 146, 159, 182, 524, and 1245 repeal state pre-emption of local laws concerning the regulation of tobacco products and allow counties to adopt laws at least as stringent as state law. House Bill 276 and Senate Bills 1009 and 1247 ban the sale of all flavored tobacco products. House Bill 331 and Senate Bill 222 change the current tax on large cigars from 50 cents each to the lesser of 50 cents or 50% of the wholesale price. House Bill 387 prohibits the shipment and transport of tobacco products ordered or purchased through a remote sale, to anyone other than a licensee, apply all provisions of the cigarette tax and tobacco tax law to e-liquid, increase the license fee for tobacco retailer permits from $20 to $50, and change the tobacco tax on all tobacco products other than large cigars by an unspecified amount. House Bills 825 and 1047, and Senate Bill 1273 impose a new tax of 70% of the wholesale price on electronic cigarettes and e-liquids, increases tobacco and e-cigarette retail license fees from $2.50 per year to $250 per year, and moves the regulation of electronic cigarettes to the Department of Health. House Bill 1018 and Senate Bill 1244 clarify that violations of the provision for sales of tobacco products to persons under 21 are imposed on the retailer, not the employee making the sale. Senate Bill 887 increases the cigarette tax by $1.00 per pack. Senate Bill 1016 prohibits the sale of tobacco within 750 feet of preschools, schools and public playgrounds, and denies licensing or renewals of tobacco retailers within that radius beginning January 1, 2020. House Bill 1509 progressively bans the sale of cigarettes by raising the minimum age of persons to whom cigarettes may be legally sold to 30 years of age in 2020, 40 years of age in 2021, 50 years of age in 2022, 60 years of age in 2023, and then 100 years of age in 2024.
Indiana: House Bill 1551 increases the cigarette tax by $1.00 per pack, raises the legal purchase age to 21 and repeals the “smokers’ bill of rights.” House Bill 1565 increases the cigarette tax by $2.00 per pack. House Bill 1606 taxes e-liquid containing nicotine at $.10 per milliliter.
Massachusetts: HD2201 relates to local Boards of health and the sale of legal products. HD2485 regulates nicotine tobacco products. The full text of these bills is not available on the Massachusetts legislative website.
Mississippi: House Bill 742 increases the purchase age for tobacco and vapor products from 18 to 21 years of age.
Nebraska: Legislative Bill 429 establishes an excise tax cap for cigars at a rate of 50 cents per cigar. The current excise tax on cigars is 20% of the purchase price. Legislative Bill 710 increases the excise tax on cigarettes by $1.50 per pack increases the excise tax on other tobacco products by 45% of the purchase price (from 20% to 65% of the purchase price), includes vapor products in the definition of tobacco products, thus imposing the OTP excise tax on vapor products, and modifies the excise tax on snuff from 44 cents per ounce to the OTP excise tax rate of 65% of the purchase price. Legislative Bill 614 increases the tax on cigarettes by $1.50 per pack.
New Hampshire: House Bill 438 removes the exemption for premium cigars from the OTP tax, thereby subjecting premium cigars to the OTP tax rate of 65.03% of wholesale.
North Dakota: Senate Bill 2355 repeals the current excise tax provision that taxes cigarettes at a rate of 44 cents per pack; redefines “tobacco product” to include cigarettes and vapor products, thus imposing the current cigar and pipe tobacco excise tax of 28% of the wholesale price on cigarettes and vapor products; includes chewing tobacco and snuff in the definition of “tobacco products” and taxes these products at 28% of the wholesale price; requires each person selling tobacco products to obtain a license from the state.
Oregon: House Bill 2123 imposes a tax on vapor products at the following rates: 95% of the wholesale price of inhalant form nicotine that is sold separately from an inhalant delivery system or sold in a disposable cartridge used in an inhalant delivery system and 70% of the wholesale price of an inhalant delivery system that is sold containing inhalant form nicotine and does not require any additional components for use. House Bill 2158 removes the per cigar limitation (50 cents) on the state cigar tax. House Bill 2159 and House Bill 2169 impose a tax on vapor products at the rate of 95% of the wholesale price. House Bill 2270 increases the tax on cigarettes by $2.00 per pack, and includes inhalant delivery devices on the definition of tobacco products, thus imposing the OTP tax rate of 65% of the wholesale price on vapor products.
Rhode Island: House Bill 5151 (Governor’s budget bill) increases the cigarette tax by $.25 per pack, imposes a new tax of 40% of wholesale on electronic nicotine delivery systems, increase the tax cap on large cigars to $.80 per cigar and raises licensing and registration fees for cigarette dealers.
Vermont: House Bill 48 increases the tax on cigarettes by $1.25 per pack; on snuff to $3.61 per ounce; on new smokeless tobacco products to $3.61 per ounce or $4.33 per package weighing less than 1.2 ounces—floor tax
West Virginia: Senate Bill 348 increases the purchase age for tobacco and vapor products from 18 to 21 years of age.
Wyoming: House Bill 218 increases the tax on cigarettes by $1.00 per pack, increases the tax on OTP from 20% to 53.3% of the wholesale price, and increases the tax on moist snuff by $1.00 per ounce.