State tobacco-related legislative bills that have been introduced in the past week are listed below alphabetically by state:
Arizona: Senate Bill 1009 amends current law to include electronic smoking devices and their components for purposes of tobacco sales restrictions. House Bill 2024 adds electronic smoking devices to the state’s indoor smoking restriction law, with an exemption for properly ventilated stores that exclusively sell electronic smoking devices.
California: Assembly Bill 131 prohibits electronic smoking device manufacturers from advertising the devices with messages that intend to: (1) encourage persons under 21 to use the devices, or (2) appeal to persons under 21 by using cartoons, images used in children’s advertising, imitates candy packages or uses the term “candy” or “candies.” Senate Bill 38 prohibits the retail sale of flavored tobacco products, defined as those products that contain an ingredient that imparts a flavor other than tobacco, and allows for greater restrictions through local laws. Senate Bill 39 requires that packaging of tobacco products for delivery through the mail or other delivery services identify that the contents are tobacco and require a signature of a person 21 or older upon delivery.
Colorado: House Bill 1033 authorizes cities, towns and counties to impose fees, licenses or taxes on cigarette sales and repeals current law that prohibits localities from enacting separate cigarette tax ordinances in order to receive a portion of State cigarette tax revenue. The bill also authorizes a county to impose a special sales tax on the sale of cigarettes, tobacco products, or nicotine products through a vote by the people within the county.
Connecticut: House Bill 5129 requires labeling of electronic delivery systems as cigarettes. House Bill 5131 raises the minimum age to purchase tobacco products from 18 to 21. House Bill 5141 raises the minimum age to purchase electronic delivery systems and vapor products to 21. House Bill 5101 imposes a tax on electronic nicotine delivery systems, liquid nicotine containers and vapor products in a manner similar to tobacco products.
Illinois: Senate Bill 21 increases the legal purchase age for tobacco products and vapor products from 18 years of age to 21 years of age.
New Hampshire: House Bill 438 removes the exemption for premium cigars from the tobacco tax.
New Mexico: Senate Bill 166 increases the cigarette tax from $1.66 per pack to $2.00 per pack, taxes little cigars at the same rate as cigarettes, and imposes a tax on liquid nicotine at the rate of $.05 per milliliter.
New York: Assembly Bill 47/Senate Bill 428 prohibits the sale of flavored e-liquid for use in e-cigarettes (exempts the flavors of tobacco and menthol). Assembly Bill 70/Senate Bill 475 requires electronic cigarette packaging to include a warning that the product may pose an explosion hazard. Senate Bill 137 imposes a tax on vapor products of $.25 per fluid milliliter. Senate Bill 468 changes the minimum pack size and tax rates for tobacco products: loose tobacco would have a minimum package size of .65 ounces and be taxed at the higher of 95% of wholesale or the same as a pack of cigarettes; cigars would have a minimum 5 pack taxed at the higher of 95% of wholesale or the same as a pack of cigarettes; single-unit tobacco would have a minimum of 20 pieces taxed at the higher of 95% of wholesale or the same as a pack of cigarettes; and moist snuff would have minimum package size of one ounce taxed at the higher of 95% of wholesale or $3.63 per ounce.
Assembly Bill 389/Senate Bill 592) provides that no pharmacy shall sell tobacco products. Assembly Bill 481 includes electronic cigarettes and liquid nicotine within the tobacco use and prevention program and requires the registration of vendors of electronic cigarettes. Assembly Bill 558 increases the age to purchase tobacco products from 18 years old to 21 years old. Senate Bill 876 provides for the taxation of electronic cigarette cartridges as tobacco products.
North Dakota: House Bill 1236 increases the legal age to purchase tobacco products and vapor products from 18 to 19 years of age. Senate Bill 2137 exempts cigar bars from smoking prohibitions, provided the smoking of all other tobacco products is prohibited on the premises.
Oregon: House Bill 2123 imposes a tax on vapor products at the following rates: 95% of the wholesale price of inhalant form nicotine that is sold separately from an inhalant delivery system or sold in a disposable cartridge used in an inhalant delivery system and 70% of the wholesale price of an inhalant delivery system that is sold containing inhalant form nicotine and does not require any additional components for use. Oregon House Bill 2158 repeals the per cigar tax cap of $.50.
South Carolina: House Bill 3451 increases the purchase age for tobacco and vapor products from 18 to 21 years of age.
Texas: House Bill 627 increases the cigarette tax from $1.41 per pack to $1.65 per pack.
Washington: House Bill 1074 and Senate Bill 5057 increase the legal age to purchase tobacco products and vapor products from 18 to 21 years of age.
Virginia: Senate Bill 1512 gives Counties the right to tax cigarettes if approved by referendum; Senate Bill 1606 taxes Vapor Products at 40% of the price paid to a wholesale dealer by a retail dealer; House Bill 1946 gives all Counties, Cities, and Towns within the Commonwealth the right to tax cigarettes; House Bill 2084 gives all Counties, Cities, and Towns with a population greater than 100,000 people the right to tax cigarettes.