California: Assembly Bill 725 and Senate Bill 386, both of which prohibit smoking, including e-cigarette use, on state coastal beaches, passed the Senate Committee on Natural Resources and Water and the Assembly Committee on Water, Parks and Wildlife on June 27, 2017.
Delaware: House Bill 242, which increases the cigarette tax from $1.60 to $2.10 per pack, the OTP tax from 15% to 30%, the moist snuff tax from $.54 to $.92, imposes a new tax on vapor products at $.05 per fluid milliliter, and requires vape retailers to obtain a license, passed the House and Senate on July 2, 2017. The bill, which includes a floor tax, was signed by the Governor on July 3, 2017 with effective dates of September 1, 2017 for cigarettes, OTP, and moist snuff, and January 1, 2018 for vapor products.
Kansas: House Bill 2230, which decreases the excise tax on vapor products from 20 cents per milliliter of e-liquid to 5 cents per milliliter of e-liquid, was enacted on June 26, 2017.
Maine: Senate Bill 391 (LD1170), which raises the minimum sales age for tobacco products and vapor products from 18 to 21 (amended to exclude individuals who are 18 by July 1, 2018), was tabled in the Appropriations and Financial Affairs Committee on June 27, 2017.
Massachusetts: On July 6th, the legislative leaders of the Massachusetts House and Senate reached a budget agreement that does not include a proposal to raise taxes on flavored cigar products.
New Jersey: Senate Bill 359/Assembly Bill 2320, which raise the legal age to purchase cigarettes from 19 to 21, was sent to Governor Chris Christie for his consideration.
Oregon: Senate Bill 754, which increases the legal purchase age for tobacco and vapor products from 18 to 21 years of age, passed the House of Representatives and now awaits the Governor’s signature. If enacted into law, the new legal purchase age will go into effect on January 1, 2018.
Pennsylvania: House Bill 1477, which modifies the tax on vapor products from 40% of the purchase to $.05 per fluid milliliter of consumable product, passed form the House Finance Committee on June 29, 2017.
Rhode Island: House Bill 5175, the Governor’s budget bill that includes a $.50 per pack cigarette tax increase and a floor tax, passed the Senate on June 30, 2017. Senate Bill 402, which prohibits the sale of liquid that is intended for human consumption and/or use in an electronic nicotine delivery system that is not contained in child resistant packaging, passed the Senate on June 29, 2017. Senate Bill 446 Sub A, which includes e-cigarette use in the definition of smoking and sale of e-cigarettes in the definition of a retail tobacco store, was re-committed to the Senate Health & Human Services Committee on June 28, 2017.
Vermont: The General Assembly adjourned on June 21, 2017.
Washington: The Senate Commerce, Labor, and Sports Committee did not take any action on Senate Bill 5025, which increases the legal age to purchase tobacco and vapor products from 18 to 21 years of age.