State tobacco-related legislative bills that have been introduced in the past week are listed below alphabetically by state:
Arizona: House Bill 2628 was amended with a strike-everything amendment in the Senate Appropriations Committee on March 23, 2021, and now raises the minimum legal sales, purchase, use and possession age to 21, requires tobacco product retailers to obtain a license from the Department of Liquor Licenses and Control, preempts most local regulation of sales and marketing of tobacco products, and provides for penalties for sales to underage persons.
Minnesota: Senate File 2301 increases the excise tax on cigarettes by $1.50 per pack (from $3.04 to $4.54 per pack), increases the excise tax on vapor products and other tobacco products from 95% to 97%, and imposes a floor stock tax. SF2301 was referred to the Senate Tax Committee on March 25, 2021.
Montana: Senate Bill 398 prohibits a local government from adopting or enforcing any local ordinance or resolution that prohibits the sale of alternative nicotine products or vapor products.
Nevada: Assembly Bill 360 requires vapor product manufacturers to provide the Department of Taxation a list of products that are federally compliant by April 30 of each year and prohibits retailers from selling products that are not on the list maintained by the Department of Taxation.
New York: Assembly Bill 6342 repeals the exemption for flavored vapor products authorized by the FDA to be legally marketed and that has received a premarket review approval order. Assembly Bill 6544 requires distributors and manufacturers of vapor products to obtain permits, prohibits the sale of illicit vapor products (as defined) and creates a vapor product directory.