State tobacco-related legislative bills that have been introduced in the past week are listed below alphabetically by state:
Alabama: House Bill 41 would prohibit alternative nicotine retailers or manufacturers from advertising, or opening near schools, child care centers, churches, or other facilities, prohibit retailers and manufacturers from advertising these products as cessation devices, and require alternative nicotine retailers to obtain a tobacco permit to comply with FDA regulations.
Florida: House Bill 1041 and Senate Bill 1618 increase the purchase age for tobacco and vapor products from 18 to 21 years of age. House Bill 1125 and Senate Bill 1406 prohibit the sale of flavored tobacco products at retail or allow a vending machine that sells flavored products on site unless the retailer prohibits persons under 18 years of age.
Iowa: Senate Bill 497 increases the tax on cigarettes to $2.86 per pack, increases the tax on other tobacco products to 75%, raises cap tax on cigars to $1.00, and creates a tax on vapor products at $5.00 per cartridge, or other container of a solution or substance, which may or may not contain nicotine; Senate Bill 499 increases the purchase age for tobacco and vapor products from 18 to 21 years of age.
Massachusetts: Senate Bill 976 (same as H1951) requires age verification for any person regardless of age and increases fines for violations. Senate Bill 1279 bans the sale of flavored cigarettes (including menthol) and flavored tobacco products (including menthol); allows flavored tobacco products to be sold in smoking bars. Senate Bill 1606 (same as House Bill 2436) increases the cigarette tax to $4.01 per pack—with a floor tax; taxes electronic smoking devices at 75% of wholesale; increases the tax on cigars and smoking tobacco to 80% of wholesale. Senate Bill 1609 increases the tax on cigars to 80% of wholesale; increases the tax on smoking tobacco to 90% of wholesale; increases the tax on smokeless tobacco by 20%. Senate Bill 1633 taxes electronic smoking devices at 75% of wholesale and requires a license to sell ESDs. House Bill 3482 taxes vapor products at 40% of wholesale; limits the amount of nicotine for all tobacco products in solid form to .4 mg per 1 gram of tobacco and for tobacco products in liquid form to 1% of volume.
New York: Senate Bill 4249 limits the number of retail electronic cigarette stores in cities and towns based on proximity to schools, places of worship and other retail electronic cigarette stores.
Oregon: House Bill 3266 increases the tax on cigarettes by $2.00 per pack.
Pennsylvania: House Bill 697 prohibits the sale of nicotine products and nicotine delivery products to persons under 21 years of age.
Rhode Island: Senate Bill 462 raises the minimum age to purchase tobacco products and nicotine delivery systems from 18 to 21 years of age.